Home > Photography > Good Mentors Make Pursuing Your Dreams Easier

Good Mentors Make Pursuing Your Dreams Easier

Just a quick note . . . I highly recommend that in whatever you do . . . whether it is photography, graphics (wherever your passion lies) that you get a mentor.  A good mentor will keep you from reinventing the wheel over and over again.  A good mentor will provide you with resources that will keep you from stumbling in the dark that have you concentrating more on your craft and less on trying to find a way to perfect your craft.

More than one mentor is also great because you receive more than one persepective and ensures that a mentor is always available.

One of my mentors provided me with a wealth of knowledge last night, so tonight after I meet with a client, I will be hitting the books.

April Sims Photography

Share

  1. November 15, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Thanks April for this type of information. We think alike. I want to kick it up a notch. In order to do that I need to know the when, where, why and how’s to make my photographs achieve the “WOW” factor, just like you’ve acheived here.

    The reason why I got into photography was when I realized I didn’t have pictures of my mother until after she died. During her bouts with heart disease she didn’t want to be photographed, and I told her that I wouldn’t take her picture unless she approved it first. This made her comfortable. She lived in Virginia, where I grew up and I’m here in Maryland. When she was healthy she would visit, no pictures were taken. The last visit I received was when we had a family reunion at my house. I had Thanksgiving in July 2002 and she died in 2004. I never thought of how important it was to have photographs. I never want this to happen to anyone else. You know pictures stop coming when you lose your subject. Today, I photograph my immediate family and my husbands side of the family. I don’t want this to happen to him. His parents are reaching their 80’s. Having said that, as we have family gatherings, I’ve become the family photographer.

    I don’t want you to feel sorry for me, but this is and was an awakening moment for me. This became my passion. That’s why I feel their is a need to service those that can’t and don’t photograph their events when it happens. I know it wasn’t easy getting to where you are today, and I know it takes hard work and determination to acheive your goals. That’s why I’m here.

    I have a Nikon D200, and a Canon G9 point and shoot camera. I’ve purchased some studio equipment but it’s not up yet. I just want to acheive extraordinary photographs, photographs that others can’t acheive themselves. I want to do weddings but I don’t yet feel secure in my work.

    Can we get together? Can you help a sista out?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

